NCC in 2013?

So, obviously, the Outhouse has been especially lonely lately. A new year is coming up, and since my family’s catechesis has also fallen on hard times over the past few months, I am considering taking the family through NCC in 2013, and blogging a review of each week’s question.

On the plus side, such a plan will provide a steady (though not voluminous) stream of new content here at the ‘house, while simultaneously adding some public accountability from you kind folks. On the minus side, I think the jury’s still out on NCC, whether it is a Good Thing, or whether I should just buckle down and get back into SC and Training Hearts, Teaching Minds where we trailed off somewhere around the 2nd commandment.

What do you all think? Is anybody else out there willing to jump in with both feet and expose (indoctrinate?) their family to NCC?

This entry was posted in Catechesis, Compare and Confess, Confessionalism, Confessions, Family, New City Catechism, Reformed piety, Review, Tim Keller. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NCC in 2013?

  1. Tim Prussic says:

    I read through the first half of this and found it edifying and useful. I’m thinking about it for 2013. We’ve done the kiddie catechism for the past couple years. I tried to make the big move to the Shorter, but it was rough going. Maybe this is a good intermediate step. Thanks for the post.

  2. RubeRad says:

    Let me know how it goes if you do try NCC.

    For shorter, I do recommend Training Hearts, Teaching Minds for devotionals (and so does Mike Horton). For memorizing it, I recommend the Structured Shorter Catechism

  3. Chaz says:

    Stick with the Shorter Catechism. If you want ecumenicism, try one of the Creeds.

  4. RubeRad says:

    Yeah, the lack of updates means I didn’t get started in time, which means it ain’t happenin. I’m too OCD to start a 52-week catechism in the middle of the year…

Leave a Reply

