Caption Contest

Ok, I couldn’t help myself. Is this a saint or sinner coming out of his confessional? I don’t know, just so very much could be said here. And I don’t have much time since I have to endure three days of charts, numbers and legislation language about standardized assessments.

YOUR CAPTION HERE

So, I thought I’d start a caption contest. Submit the cleverest caption and win 2 free tickets to the next U2charist coming to a conference center near you. (That’s a joke. You won’t win anything.)

P.S. St. Hyde, I won’t reveal which saint passed this along to me because I am not one to incite in-House scuffles. But I will say my hairline is well on its way to emulating his saintliness.

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Caption Contest

  1. RubeRad says:

    Actually, I don’t see why the prize for the winning entry shouldn’t be publication of the caption underneath the photo, in this very post! Fame and fortune surely awaits all who manage to get “published” at the Confessional Outhouse!

  2. RubeRad says:

    “I don’t know what it is, but that theonomy stuff just goes right through me!”

  3. Rick says:

    Classic.

    Here we go:

    “Note to self: Never follow Zrim into the Outhouse.”

    “I could have sworn I left my robe in there.”

    “That’s all for this week’s new members class…last one out turn off the light.”

  4. RubeRad says:

    “What do you mean, ‘That’s not the baptismal jacuzzi’?”

  5. Rick says:

    I think we should also open this up for a photoshop contest. Winner gets their pic posted.

  6. RubeRad says:

    “Whew! My bowels feel absolutely Tranformed!”

  7. Brad Lenzner says:

    “Now I know how Luther must have felt after his ‘discovery.'”

  8. John Bugay says:

    Up to this point, I vote for Rube’s “Theonomy goes right through me” caption…

  9. Rick says:

    “I hope you were done reading that Christian Renewal in there.”

  10. Danny Hyde says:

    Hey boys,

    I knew that pic would make it to www somehow!

    Note to self, never get caught in a similar situation with paparazzi-like-parishioners.

  11. Rick says:

    “Whew, that was very Kuyperian of me, I befouled every square inch.”

    DH, bless your parishioners.

  12. Chris says:

    You too can experience the joy of absolution when you use the new confessional booth at O.U.R.C.

  13. Rick says:

    OK, I just got a photoshop contest submission.

    So if you’re photoshop savvy, e-mail me your entry and I’ll slap it up on my other, ill-spent blog. Here’s the address: rsbier@sbcglobal.net

  14. Pingback: Photoshop Contest « Not of this World

  15. RubeRad says:

    JB, thanks for the (one and only) second to my ‘theonomy’ nomination, but for the record, I must say that I consider most of Rick’s submissions funner than that one.

    Overall, though, I think we have enough good ones down here in the comment trail, that it would not be worth it to elevate one above the rest.

    Skid mark — I mean “bottom line” — it’s Zrim’s contest, so he can decide if/when to declare an absolute winner!

  16. Zrim says:

    Ok, I think the roll has been as let out as far as it’s going to get, I think.

    I must say that Rube’s theonomy caption stands out as the best: “I don’t know what it is, but that theonomy stuff just goes right through me!”

    Insert here something cheeky (oh, man, I kill me sometimes) about the fact that theonomists and derivatives thereof don’t grasp fulfillment. Ok, this has to stop.

  17. Rick says:

    I concede victory and would congratulate Rube on a hard fought contest. I’d like to thank Chris and Brad for their involvement, but as third-party candidates they really didn’t have a chance, however brilliant their ideas where. And lastly I’d like to thank my mother for believing in me when no one else would. I love you mom!

  18. RubeRad says:

    As clear victor of this caption campaign, I’d like to thank all of you insignificant little people for recognizing my brilliance. And I am also pleased to announce my intention to add to my ticket, in the role of “Vice Caption”, Rick’s “I hope you were done reading that Christian Renewal in there”.

    Finally, Rick’s “Whew, that was very Kuyperian of me, I befouled every square inch” will be appointed as Caption of State (or perhaps Ambassador to The Netherlands).

  19. rana says:

    was this Danny on the Price is Right recently? seriously, some guy who resembles Danny was on giving a shout out to Westminster Seminary.

    did any of the GR peops attend the Outhouse 500? i kid you not, only in W Michigan. there was an outhouse parade/ race in Coopersville. the press probably has some photos online.

  20. Zrim says:

    R’na,

    I wonder if that is anything like the Milk Carton Regatta or the Bed Race in Northern Michigan at the Cherry Festival.

    You have to cut us life-long Michiganders a break. The second most overcast state in the union does things to people.

  21. Rick says:

    The second most overcast state in the union

    Yeah, and all the overcast-ness all comes in 4 consecutive months. I’m going nuts!

    My Tigers season tickets arrive next week…it’s almost Spring.

    What’s with typing R’na? Can’t type that one extra letter?

  22. RubeRad says:

    ‘ instead of a saves on pixels. It adds up.

    The second most overcast state in the union

    I thought that would be OHS Stellman’s home state, with top honors going to Oregon!

  23. Zrim says:

    “What’s with typing R’na? Can’t type that one extra letter?”

    That’s her name’s proper spelling. FWIW, my surname is actually Zrmc. She and I enjoy Americanized versions.

  24. Brad Lenzner says:

    “I’d like to thank Chris and Brad for their involvement, but as third-party candidates they really didn’t have a chance…”

    You make the Outhouse seem so incestuous!

    My Samuel Miller quote did me in the other day didn’t it? lol.

    Rube, congrats!

  25. Zrim says:

    Brad,

    Are the same Brad who was questioning Riddlebarger a few months back about his posting of his political views on his blog? I think you are. Runner-up points for you.

    …honorable mention for Rick

  26. Brad Lenzner says:

    Zrim,

    Yup, that was me. Thanks for the runner up points.

  27. Rick says:

    Boooooo!!!!!!!!

    You can’t give Brad points for work on an unrelated thread.

    Or can we?

    Brad, I declare you the new winner and Rube runner up because of that one post you had a few years ago about sharing the Gospel at Starbucks

  28. Zrim says:

    Well, Rick, that was just my way of giving kudos to Brad for what he was saying elsewhere, since I never seem to get any support when I do the same.

  29. Rick says:

    I know, Zrim. I believe Stellman came to your aid once on a Riddlebarger thread. That was great. I got your back too buddy!

  30. Brad Lenzner says:

    Wow, I went from third party candidate status with no chance for winning…to runner up…to winner.

    The Outhouse…its cozy in here.

    You guys crack me up.

  31. Zrim says:

    Rick, did he? It must not have been over the whole “ordained ministers should hold their views as tight as possible to their chest” point, since I seem to lose that one with him as well, only not as miserably. But, whatever, it’s good to know I have a saint on my shoulder even if another steps on my toes. And a sitter on my back doesn’t hurt either!

    Brad, are you really Ron Paul, Ross Perot or Ralph Nader?

  32. Brad Lenzner says:

    Actually, Zrim, I was thinking I might be John McCain or Barack Obama…you know, a come back kid, given how I came from behind to take the caption cake. lol.

    When I read your various comments I find myself saying, “Yeah, what he said!” Now I feel bad that I didn’t jump in to defend you more often.

    I have often marveled at your ubiquity over the internet, Zrim. I wonder if you’ve been spending time with Lutherans lately.

  33. Zrim says:

    Brad,

    I have to admit that way back at the time of my Reformed conversion I felt a gravitational pull toward Wittenburg. And speaking of “ubiquity over the internet,” of all the things I have been called Lutheran is my all-time favorite. People say that like it’s a bad thing, but I can think of much worse things to be…like Ross Perot (!).

  34. Brad Lenzner says:

    My attempt at humor faltered somewhat. I think I may not possess the same degree of Outhouse quip wit as you!

    Hey! Wait a second!

    You asked if I was Ross Perot above!

    Oye vey.

    haha.

  35. Pingback: Sale Price on a Relic « The Confessional Outhouse

Leave a Reply

