Brother Loves Traveling Salvation Show

neil diamond

All this talk of Neil Diamond wanting to get inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is interesting. He deserves to be there, and anyone who disagrees reveals his both ignorance about American pop music and probably a taste for pop music that is way too narrow and boring.

It has been said that there are two kinds of people in the world: those who like Neil Diamond and those who don’t. I do. Maybe that is because it was the Lapsed Episcopalian’s music, and it reminds me of beloved treks down to Indianapolis for the 500 every Memorial Day Weekend. If so, that may be why I also like late Elvis Presley music as it was the stuff that was always played as we trolled outside the track scalping tickets the night before the race and took in, ahem, humanity.

Or maybe it is because Neil captured Revivalism in a catchy tune called, “Brother Loves Traveling Salvation Show.” Funny how a “New York City born and raised Jew” can not only sing Christmas carols but gets Revivalism in ways many Revivalists don’t.

Hot August night
And the leaves hanging down
And the grass on the ground smellin’ sweet
Move up the road to the outside of town
And the sound of that good gospel beat
Sits a ragged tent
Where there ain’t no trees
And that gospel group tellin’ you and me
It’s Love, Brother Love, say
Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show
Pack up the babies and grab the old ladies
And ev’ryone goes, ’cause everyone knows
Brother Love’s showRoom gets suddenly still
And when you’d almost bet
You could hear yourself sweat, he walks in
Eyes black as coal
And when he lifts his face
Ev’ry ear in the place is on him
Starting soft and slow
Like a small earthquake
And when he lets go,
Half the valley shakes
It’s Love, Brother Love, say
Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show
Pack up the babies and grab the old ladies
And ev’ryone goes, ’cause everyone knows
Brother Love’s show

[Sermon]

Take my hand in yours,
Walk with me this day
In my heart I know, I will never stray
Halle, halle, halle, halle
Halle, halle, halle, halle
It’s Love, Brother Love, say
Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show
Pack up the babies
And grab the old ladies and ev’ryone goes
I say, Love, Brother Love, say
Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show
Pack up the babies
And grab the old ladies and ev’ryone goes…
 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Brother Loves Traveling Salvation Show

  1. sean says:

    I wonder if you’ll get the same complaints from men that you got for the marilyn monroe shot. I can’t see how this shot is any less offensive.

  2. Zrim says:

    Maybe it will offend the other kinds of people in the world, those who don’t like Neil Diamond?

    Maybe all such “weak brethren” will understand. Weak brethren, by definition, don’t pipe up. Strong brethren, mistaken for weak, who want to lord it over others do.

  3. sean says:

    Not that I was offended by the MM shot. But then I’m sure I don’t adequately flagellate myself for being male. My accountability partners have told me it’s a problem. I told them they’re hen-pecked. They aren’t sure that’s a problem. I assured them it was. They said they’d pray about it and share with me later. I told them I was going fishing.

  4. Zrim says:

    Sean,

    Speaking to people that don’t exist doesn’t sound right. You should see someone about that. Maybe an accountabilty partner to keep you from being tempted to speak to imagined accountability parters. It worked for me…now I just do this blog thing. this guy named Sean keeps showing up and I swear it is me. Hmmm, maybe it didn’t work and I should get an accountability partner again.

    Seriously, you kill me stone cold dead (that is a figure of speech, folks).

  5. sean says:

    “Maybe an accountabilty partner to keep you from being tempted to speak to imagined accountability parters.”

    Oh no, just don’t tell my therapist, she’ll put me back on haldol. I’ve tried to tell her, the cognitive behavioral therapy is working great, she says I’m a little mysoginistic still, and “HE” isn’t necessary anymore and “He” needs to be integrated. I said no, that was the baseline BEFORE the trauma so we’re all good again. She already doesn’t really believe me, this will sink me for sure.

  6. Zrim says:

    Ok, Sean, I changed the image. I hope this meets both of our felt needs, as this was the album I always recall sitting in my father’s mess of records beneath his Zenith turntable. (I remember when he first brought that thing home. It was like being a low-level flunkie at NASA and we all had to stand about eight feet back while he set it up. It was about this time frame that he actually recalls a friend suggesting they go to Burger King one day because “They have these things called Whoppers!” It’s all about the time the pic for the icon I use was taken as well.)

  7. sean says:

    LOL. Yes! The size of the JPEG is directly related to the degree of sin or better yet it’s absence. I’m rolling now. The smaller the image the less peurile it is. I have my loophole. I knew it existed, I told everyone it was there. Woo hoo, no more accountability por mi.

    In other news, how can you deny Neil diamond his due?! If Elvis is there how can you say Neil Diamond is Schwarmy! They shared a tailor after all.

  8. Zrim says:

    Yeah, Neil needs to keep appealing to law and assert his rights to be let in. No gospel for the powers that be.

  9. sean says:

    It’s a good example of working by creation rules. No conflation at the rock & roll hall of fame, uh huh thank you very much.

  10. sean says:

    Besides what could be more american than for him to sick the jewish defamation league on ’em. They were all coming to america for a reason.

  11. sean says:

    That would be ANTI-defamation league.

  12. Mike says:

    Hey you guys have you heard the latest album that came out on the 6th? It is grerat!! Real Niel Diamond fans would allready have this “masterpiece”. 🙂 :-0 There is some interesting stuff in there…one that almost sounds like ol’ Niel has had a conversion experience. Look it up and tell me what you think.

    I have a new grand baby to go hold so i might be awhile.

  13. Zrim says:

    Mike,

    I have heard about his latest. I think it’s related news to his banging on the door of the Hall of Fame.

    I have also heard something about this conversion experience stuff. But I am not a Revivalist so I don’t care about the psycho-spiritual speculations of conversionism as much as whether someone has become a member of the true, institutional church. For my part, I’ll take Neil capturing Revivalism in pop music. Like the tag line reads, it’s lonely out here.

  14. Mike says:

    Spoil -sport—:-) 🙂

  15. Zrim says:

    Mike,

    I guess it means more TP for me.

Leave a Reply

