Everyone Wants To Be A Rock Star

VM

My wife is a trained but long since lapsed vocalist. During our Sabbath stroll yesterday she interrupted my thoughts on Meuther’s latest biography on Van Til and asked me a question: If you could perform three songs perfectly, without a hitch, as they were meant to be performed, what would they be?

Without missing a beat, I said my first choice would be “Solsbury Hill” by Peter Gabriel and then probably “Can’t Find My Way Home” by Steve Winwood. (We saw Winwood in concert two summers ago in Kresge Auditorium. Speaking of which, it was exactly twenty years ago that I walked across that same stage to receive my high school diploma. The auditorium filled with over 736 students went crazy when they called my name. I like to think it was because I was kind of of a rock star already, but something tells me it had something to do with being dead last and signaling the end of a very long ceremony. The only time I was ever not dead last in school was when in third grade when there was a kid named Zywicki or it was Opposite Friday in Mrs. Allen’s fourth grade class. Anyway, it was our anniversary, and the Lapsed Episcopalian couldn’t get rid of the tickets after my mother claimed she had no interest. So he lent us his newly acquired Mazda Miada—a symbol of his recent retirement and testimony, once again, to his being a classic baby boomer fallen victim to the “hip, hirsute and Honda” syndrome. The most recent indication of being a classic Boomer in the mainline tradition was his bringing a copy of Eckhart Tolle’s new book to lunch a couple weeks ago and asking my opinion. I told him it sounded like warmed over M. Scott Peck’s “The Road Less Travelled” and just a lot of secular spirituality, AKA, all law and no gospel. He laughed and said that’s what he thought I’d say. It is good to be a painfully predictable Presbyterian.)

I can’t decide what my third option would be. It would have to be something by Van Morrison. But what…what? Well, if I don’t know what it would be at least I know it where: in an obscure Irish pub.

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Everyone Wants To Be A Rock Star

  1. WEBSHERIFF says:

    WEB SHERIFF
    Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208-323 8080
    websheriff@websheriff.com
    http://www.websheriff.com

    Hi Zrim,

    On behalf of Exile Productions and Exile Publishing, many thanks for plugging Van Morrison and, if you / your readers want good quality, non-pirated, preview tracks from Van’s new album – “Keep It Simple” – full versions of “That’s Entrainment” and “Behind The Ritual” (along with album track samplers) are available for fans and bloggers to link on Lost Highway’s web-site at http://www.losthighwayrecords.com .

    Up-to-the-minute info on Keep It Simple and Van’s 2008 shows is, of course, also available on http://www.vanmorrison.com and http://www.myspace.com/vanmorrison and, for a limited period, you can still hear Van’s exclusive BBC concert at http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radio2_aod.shtml?radio2/r2_vanmorrison and you can also see his BBC sessions at http://www.bbc.co.uk/musictv/vanmorrison/video/ .

    Thanks again for your support.

    Regards,

    WEB SHERIFF

  2. sean says:

    Nice pants and scarf. I was wondering where my goodwill donation was going to show up.

  3. Bruce S. says:

    I was a rock star. If playing nightly at Russo’s for a year on Bridge Street, NW Grand Rapids counts.

  4. Zrim says:

    Web Sheriff,

    Um…thanks.

    Sean,

    Good one.

    Bruce,

    Rest assured, you rock.

  5. Joe Brancaleone says:

    a Van song? Tupelo Honey. I made sure to get that on the “dinner mix” during our wedding reception last year.

    To be able to sing “all the tea in China” and not make it sound cliche?

    Playing a Van song perfectly is trickier than many people would think. He could interweave different layers so smoothly. Doing a folk song but with blues guitar bobbling to the surface so warmly, soulful ornaments in the vocal lines, etc etc.

  6. Zrim says:

    Joe,

    Given the context of the question (“If you could perform three songs perfectly, without a hitch, as they were meant to be performed, what would they be?”) don’t worry about the trickiness. I also want to grow wings and fly and change a few things about my past. She hates when I add that to my answers.

    …I still can’t decide…

Leave a Reply

