He’s No Fundamentalist

I know the concept is a rip-off, but I’m nothing if not consistent: I stole both the Lapsed Episcopalian’s image and nickname for the purposes of blogging.

I have found that most Who-Said-That’s seem to be code for Guess-The-Bad-Guy. That makes it so much duller and predictable—the bad kind of predictable, not the good, Presbyterian kind. Let’s change it up a bit. So far I have dropped two hints, a trait I come by more honestly from my mother who can diffuse Christmas and birthday anticipation like a pro.  Anyway, who said:

“I never call myself a ‘Fundamentalist.’ There is, indeed, no inherent objection to the term; and if the disjunction is between ‘Fundamentalism’ and ‘Modernism,’ then I am willing to call myself a Fundamentalist of the most pronounced type. But after all, what I prefer to call myself is not a ‘Fundamentalist’ but a ‘Calvinist’ — that is, an adherent of the Reformed Faith.”

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to He’s No Fundamentalist

  1. Timothy M says:

    J. Gresham Machen

  2. Bruce S. says:

    I’m going with Machen as well. However, Karl Barth was known as “that wacky fundamentalist” so it could be him also.

    However, since your two clues are “good” and “presbyterian” I’m gonna stick with Machen.

  3. Rick says:

    I think the picture is Charles Finney.

    Quote: Since Timothy’s answer seems so matter-of-fact I too will go with Machen.

    But I’ll throw in B.B. Warfield as a guess for good measure.

  4. Timothy M says:

    lol… I have always been scared by Finney’s portraits. They portray him as if here were demonic

  5. GAS says:

    Van Til

  6. sean says:

    Do I get extra points for knowing where or to whom he said it?

  7. Zrim says:

    Sean,

    Sure, spill the beans.

  8. sean says:

    Machen, to a board member of William Jennings Bryant seminary or university or some such thing.

    Hmm, I kinda feel like a tool. I wonder if this is what it feels like to collect a check as a reality tv star.

  9. Zrim says:

    Correct.

    Maybe, but at least the star would have some money to help ease the tool feeling. Here, all you get is the tool feeling.

  10. sean says:

    Sweet.
    Hi, you’ve reached Doug Butabi………………………………………………………

Leave a Reply

