Hey, Brother: Has Anyone Seen My Hand?

img

 

The dolphin ate it.

If you haven’t rented all seasons of the critically acclaimed TV series Arrested Development (gone cancelled because the American masses are stupid sheep-lemmings) you are ordered to go out and do so. Until then, take this quiz for kicks.

Weird. I thought I’d be Michael, hands (ahem) down, or at least George Michael. Turns out I’m Buster. Story of my life.

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hey, Brother: Has Anyone Seen My Hand?

  1. RubeRad says:

    Arrested Development is awesome! Mrs. Rad requested (and received) season 1 for mother’s day (after all, the show is so inspiring for mothers!)

    I can’t take the quiz right now, but, like you, I think of myself as one of the Michaels, but will probably end up Buster. Or Dr. Tobias Fu”nke. (If one of the questions is “Do you have a PhD” I’m sunk!) I wish I was Rad enough to be Gob.

  2. Zrim says:

    I’ll worry if you’re Lindsay, Maeby or Lucille. But I bet you look hot in never-nudes.

  3. You guys in the states are churning out some good stuff of late. Have you seen Curb Your Enthusiasm?

  4. Zrim says:

    Nick,

    The “dark Seinfeld”? Of course. Larry David created both. He has no script for CYE, he pitches the cast the general plot and tells them to act it out. Genius.

    But we’ll never catch up to you all. Monty Python alone keeps you out ahead. And Ricky Gervais…enough said.

  5. Todd says:

    Don’t forget Mr. Bean

  6. RubeRad says:

    If we’re going to have a cross-puddle sitcom-off, I’ll just pull out SPACED and end the game!

  7. RubeRad says:

    [SHUDDER] But I once had a thriving practice as an analysis/therapist — until I nicknamed my profession…

  8. Zrim says:

    Todd, I’ll pretend you didn’t say that.

  9. Chris Sherman says:

    Keeping up Appearances with Patricia Routledge is a classic

  10. Todd says:

    Hey, those old Mr. Bean 8 minute skits were pretty funny – beats Benny Hill

  11. Zrim says:

    Todd,

    Oh, wait, are you talking about the Black Adder stuff? In that case, now I’m with you.

    Benny Hill was funny but he creeps me out. He looks just like my fraternal grandfather, and watching Grandpa Z chase fluzzies around, well, creeps me out.

  12. Mark says:

    @Zrim: mr. Bean is something wholly different from Blackadder, although both charaters are played by Rowan Atkinson.

    And Americans just lose it from your cousins overseas when it comes to comedy. Even with something as funny as AD.

  13. Todd says:

    Both Mr. Bean and Blackadder were funny, though Blackadder was much more clever. Now, which side of the pond has a better “The Office?”

  14. Zrim says:

    Todd,

    Ricky Gervais’s “The Office” beats ours hands down. True enough, he produces ours, but he out-performs Steve Carell. But Steve Carell might be a better correspondent than Steven Colbert.

  15. Zrim, if I can make a recommendation and if you haven’t seen it, you should try and get the DVD boxset of “Summer Heights High”. It’s set in an Australian secondary school and is one of the best things I’ve seen in ages. It’s got an ‘Office’ type feel about it. Well worth it.

  16. Don’t forget Extras.

    A surreal British comedy you’d probably like (I loved it) is called “The Mighty Boosh.” Series 1 was simply sensational. Series 2 and 3 were a bit lame as they used all their good stuff in the first. I doubt it’s well known in the US, but it is kind of Pythonesque in places.

  17. Zrim says:

    Nick,

    I’ve been meaning to see “Extras.” Thanks for the other reccomendations. Off-beat, quirky, surreal, sarcastic, smart, irreverent and left-of-center is the best way to go with comedy. Brits are geniuses at this.

  18. If you’ve got a strong conscience, Gervais’ stand up stuff is hilarious. He just goes too far sometimes.

  19. Zrim says:

    Nick, my permit from the Bureau of Weaker Siblings has long since expired. Let’s see, G, G, G…”Genius,” “Genuflecting with the Stars,” ah, here it is, “Gervais.”

Leave a Reply

