Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me!

 

carl_peter_bike_300 

Some people demand that their news, like glossolia, come with interpretation (subtle and not-so-subtle).  So they watch Fox News. Or The Daily Show. The problem with this is that one must take in news daily, which anymore I find kind of hard to do. (Last night the top three local stories here were about case of animal hoarding, another GM plant closing and a double-homocide. And the jaw ready to tell us all about it seemed just this side of too pleased. “She can tell you about the plane crash with a gleam in her, it’s interesting when people die, give us dirty laundry.” I got that 45 for my 10th birthday.)

But, if you like your news weekly (here in southwest Michigan Saturday’s at 11 AM), and you’re more Daily Show than Fox News, I highly recommend NPR’s Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me!  It’s taped live in downtown Chicago and even features a former Daily Show correspondent, Mo Rocce. Host Peter Sagal is a comedic delight. It’s a great way to get the weekly news in a gameshow fashion, with worldly and sarcastic humor laced in and out:  “Each week on the radio you can test your knowledge against some of the best and brightest in the news and entertainment world while figuring out what’s real news and what’s made up.”

Winners get Carl Kasell’s voice on their outgoing voice message systems.

This entry was posted in Humor, Plugs. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me!

  1. RubeRad says:

    Yah, I love WWDTM. When we lived in England, Auntie Beeb had a TV show with basically the same format, called “Have I Got News for You”.

    Now that you mention it, I don’t get to listen to WWDTM enough when it airs. So I’m going to add it to WHI in my podcast list!

  2. omawarisan says:

    I love Wait Wait! I took a shot and got on the show, won the limerick challenge. They also came through my town and taped one of the shows here, it is even better in person.

  3. Wout says:

    What! NPR! I thought American Christians considered NPR anathema.

    I listen to my nearest cross border NPR for the classical music.

  4. RubeRad says:

    Transformationalists find NPR anathema because of the taint of liberalism. I for one, enjoy programming that isn’t shouting at me; and that aims much more toward informing than entertaining. And I find NPR to be more fair and balanced than, say CBS.

  5. Zrim says:

    Wout,

    One of the Outhouse sitters is a local NPR producer. (I’m glad we’re flying to the US Open this year, because my dad stopped his Sirius subscription, which makes road trips better.)

    Rube,

    You make it sound like transformers only come in shades of red. But here at ground zero they come in blue as well (can you say Jim Wallis or Sojourners?). I think neo-con 2Kers find NPR anathema before red transformers. Even so, I love watching transformers and wanna-be Methodists fight.

    And I wouldn’t call PBS/NPR “more fair and balanced.” I think it’s just way better journalism, which, you’re right, does seem to include way less shouting.

  6. RubeRad says:

    I still get the impression that PBS/NPR is more fair and balanced. I get more of an impression that the networks and papers are full of journalists that are into journalism to change the world.

    But the vibe that I get from public radio is, strangely, less transformational. They seem to be more about, as you say, just way better journalism; reporting what is in a more intelligent, in-depth, and informative way.

    Or maybe because they’re better journalists, they’re just better at tucking their hearts into their sleeves?

  7. Zrim says:

    Or maybe because they’re better journalists, they’re just better at tucking their hearts into their sleeves?

    I guess Presbyterians make better journalists?

  8. RubeRad says:

    Well, Ken Myers got his start on Fresh Aire…

  9. Pingback: The Best Thing to Happen to Lutheranism Since Calvinism « The Confessional Outhouse

  10. Pingback: No Blue | The Confessional Outhouse

Leave a Reply

