PBS and Religious Programming

PBS agrees to ban new religious TV shows.

Until now, PBS stations have been required to present programming that is noncommercial, nonpartisan and nonsectarian. But the definition of “nonsectarian” programming was always loosely interpreted, and the rule had never been strictly enforced.

HT: WHI

There are religious groups that own PBS stations. KBYU is owned by Brigham Young University which is a Mormon school. The Roman Catholic Church owns a PBS station in Texas. These stations regularly broadcast religious services. Can a station use taxpayer money and then air religious services?

But as the WHI asks, what do they define as “Religious Programming.” What about Yoga? Deepak?

About Rick

I am not my own
This entry was posted in Church and State, Links, W2K. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to PBS and Religious Programming

  1. RubeRad says:

    FWIW, I remember from when I lived in England that Auntie Beeb has a regular program called Songs of Praise — just film of congregations singing hymns and Graham Kendricky stuff.

  2. I hardly ever watch Christian television or listen to Christian radio, even when I’m a contributor, so why would I want to hear see it on PBS?

  3. Rick says:

    Al, I thought you followed Jack Hayford…religiously.

  4. Ah, Rick, I do love me some Pastor Jack Hayford, but only through his books, and once in a while, a good sermon series on cd.

    The clowns that populate Christian broadcasting cause me to hurl objects at the television.

    I am much more blessed by ESPN Sportscenter and a new program called “Extreme Logging”

  5. Zrim says:

    Al,

    You don’t know what you’re missing. Christian TV is fantastico. And I don’t know why anyone would want to throw stuff at the set when he does flip it on. I thought you said the ability to laugh at yourself was priceless?

    Rick,

    As long as “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me” survives, I’m good.

  6. Rick says:

    Z,
    Indeed it will. With your pledge of support.

  7. Rick says:

    I miss a lot.

Leave a Reply

