And Even More Reason to Love Lutherans

And snicker at Baptists and Presbyterian leaning Baptists, and did I mention that Methodists are Baptists who can read (thanks, Tom Skerritt).

But seriously, flow charts are all the rage in Dispensationalism, even if to the infernal chagrin of Amilennialists. And denominationalists are nothing if unable to laugh at themselves.  Here is a little humor from the good folks at Lutheran Satire. PS, you’ll have to click on the image to get a better read.

This entry was posted in Denominationalism, Flowcharts, Humor, Lutheran Satire. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And Even More Reason to Love Lutherans

  1. Lloyd I. Cadle says:

    Hi Zrim!

    I thought maybe a few years ago that you mentioned on the Riddleblog that you used to be a Lutheran and then became Reformed. Maybe I’m wrong on that.

    By the way, you have a nice website going! I got the link from the Heidelblog.

    Blessings,

  2. Zrim says:

    Lloyd-the-Lutheran, the short answer is close, but not exactly.

    Here’s the extended answer. Reformed writers were initially responsible for helping get transitioned out of broad evangelicalism to Reformation many years ago. But I’m a slow mover, so I attended a Baptist seminary where I read a lot of Lutherans which deeply resonated, and after one year I was affirmed in what I had always suspected–I wasn’t a Baptist. But personal circumstances precluded pursuing Lutheranism in favor of the Reformed tradition and the local Reformed seminary (and I comforted myself with the meme that Lutheranism has no category for the third use of the law anyway). So now I am one of those Reformed who wonder why most of us act like the Baptists are our closest theological relatives instead of the Lutherans like our ancestors believed.

  3. Lloyd I. Cadle says:

    Zrim –

    I graduated from a dispensational Bible College and became Reformed. I ended up reading all of Calvin’s Institutes and I used to teach a Reformed catechism class using Ursinus and Berkhof along with a lot of other Reformed stuff.

    We ended up moving away and I (with a large family) became Lutheran. After reading and studying the BOC and a lot of other Lutheran theology, including a bunch of Luther, I feel like I have hit a wall as far as my zeal to learn more. I am currently teaching a Lutheran class until at least early May of next year.

    I am now back into studying the Reformed stuff because, it seems like the Lutherans haven’t developed their theology much since the Reformation.

    One thing that I love about the Reformed is that many (like those on the WHI) have remained biblical and confessional, all the while in furthering the development of Reformed theology. The Reformed are always coming out with great new books.

    I am wired in such a way that I have to and must keep learning theology. It is why I wake up in the morning. I keep finding myself purchasing more and more Reformed books in order to satisfy my desire to learn more. I know both the Lutheran and the Refomed traditions well enough to teach either, but I really miss the Reformed tradition. I really miss covenant and systematic theology.

    Anyway, I’ll enjoy your website and quit my sobbing!

  4. Mrs. Hopkins says:

    “So now I am one of those Reformed who wonder why most of us act like the Baptists are our closest theological relatives instead of the Lutherans like our ancestors believed.” Yeah, I’m with you there, but as a Lutheran wondering why my Reformed inlaws think I’m a closet Catholic/Arminian/Liberal, and find more in common with the local Pentecostals and Adventists (!) than with me. I’m also the Lutheran wondering why my fellow Lutherans are acting like any body and everybody but Lutherans.

    Mr. Cadle, Chemnitz and Francis Pieper are the only systematic dogmaticians that I know of that are read widely in Lutheran circles (and I’m a lowly housewife, so I don’t know much). Sasse is good, but more of an essayist/lecturer. “Furthering the development of theology” isn’t really on a Lutheran’s radar, and systematic theology isn’t in our vocabulary like it is in Reformed circles, as you probably know. We like to believe, teach and confess the same things–Word and Sacrament, Law and Gospel, Theology of the Cross, the Five Solas, the six Chief Parts, Two Kingdoms–over and over and over, so I guess you’re right, “the Lutherans haven’t developed their theology much since the Reformation.” We just restate it in various ways.

    I also enjoy the site!

  5. Mrs. Hopkins says:

    Also, where does a Reformed Baptist end up on that chart?!

  6. Lloyd I. Cadle says:

    Pastor Riddlebarger has said many times that there is no such thing as a Reformed Baptist.

  7. Lloyd I. Cadle says:

    Mrs. Hopkins –

    Lutheran theology is tailor made for a type of a systematic theology. It hasn’t been done yet, but I believe that one day a confessional Lutheran scholar will undertake the task.

    I also believe that one day you’ll see confessional Lutherans being more open to various views on the creation account. The Hebrew word for day “Yom” is used seven different ways in the first two chapters of Genesis alone. The Reformed have done some great study in this area. One day, you will see Lutherans undertake a real study in the creation account as well.

    I believe that if Luther was alive today, he would be at work on some of this stuff. He wouldn’t be asleep theologically!

Leave a Reply

