Easy To Be Hard

136704

The recent (and repeated) blast of Arctic air here in the mid-west reminded me of the benefit of the band’s name. But it was some recent conversations that reminded me of the content of Three-Dog Night’s “Hair!” anthem. You recall the scene in which a young mother (Cheryl Barnes) and her child are left to fend for themselves as her crusading, activist husband Hud is leaving once again to save the world.

It was recently suggested that my “inwardness and seeming lack of outward seems…un-neighborly.”

It seems altogether typical in modern western religion to force the definition of “neighborliness” into various yet terribly narrow expressions of exact justice. “Good works” is more often than not translated into pragmatic, cause-oriented efforts or highfalutin theories about anything from the “have’s versus the have not’s” to the contemporary “holocaust of the unborn.” I have come more and more to the conclusion that American religionists are secretly disgusted with the concepts of both ordinary life and proximate justice.

To them it is anathema that “neighborliness” begins and ends with more ordinary things like minding one’s own business, working quietly to support and nurture a family and participating in the dilapidated and world-worn machinery of mundane public service. American religionists of various stripes and persuasions are almost entirely fixated on the extra-ordinary problems of the world and their attendant solutions, which they imagine will garner loud applause and noble shivers down the spine. They seem unsatisfied with the stuff of a long and relentless PTO meeting that leaves all the participants feeling fairly uninspired about what was unaccomplished by 10:23 PM. (I’ve got a doozey about my recent contributions to help our school district provide full-time kindergarten!) Rather, they want to repair all the ills that every other time and place has failed to finally assuage. It seems a blind spot that most of the believing life is really about mindfully maintaining what is set before them instead of being beset, to relatively greater or lesser degrees, with how to fix it, fix it, and fix it.

I would contend that the typical American religionist is very long on sentimental ideal but quite short on ordinary piety. Ironically, in his proneness to “care about strangers, to care about evil and social injustice” he actually ends up risking the neglect of those who are actually ordained into his reach who are close, known and entrusted to him. Much as it might irritate, the truth is that each of us really only affects our more immediate environment, and even then only imperfectly. Even those who are afar off must be brought near and made ours first before having any lasting consequence upon them.

Or do they really believe, even as they tell us just how duplicitous and vain the broader American culture is, that we may have it all? Maybe they can save the world of strangers and also fully attend those who have been given to their immediate care? Do they really believe they are not in fact called to choose between that which the sarx longs for and what Spirit demands? For my part, as much as I’d like to think that not only do I know just what the family down the street needs and that I can provide it, I have one of my own and never seem to have things so well squared away that they can afford my absence.

Like I said in response to the comment originally, I find it wholly repellent the notion that just because one doesn’t care the way another does or expects does not mean that one doesn’t care. And it just might be that a superior advocacy could actually be more ordinary, organic, local and familiar than extraordinary, panoramic, distinct and remarkable. I realize such a notion may be far from exciting. But when one considers the fact that the solution to humanity’s problem was played out in relative obscurity and disparagement that also may be the very point.

This entry was posted in Theology of the Cross/glory, Transformationism, W2K. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Easy To Be Hard

  1. sean says:

    Neil Postman’s “technopoly” really trades upon the concept that television (we could insert internet) so inundates us with information that is almost exclusively unactionable, yet audience generating (titillating), that it essentialy equips us to be unuseful for local actions, which fosters in us a feeling of inability and or apathy. Our transformationalism enforces this by lauding high culture and inversely diminishing the more mundane vocations, and even worse makes us dispassionate about doing so. The perception is that their is so little “discernible-immediate” benefit to the action, plus quite frankly there is no one to see us do it . Even as confessionalists we know the paradigm is different, but we struggle overcoming our television and now church programming conditioning of “what’s important”.

  2. Zrim says:

    Sean,

    Interesting. At the same time, though, the crusader mentality pre-dates technologies crawling with Xs and 0s and remote controls. It seems to thrive whether or not TV/internet is around. Maybe that’s because the programming for crusading, as it were, goes down way deep.

    Or maybe I just still want my MTV (I am a really bad techno-phobe Luddite).

  3. mutajadideen says:

    Hey Zrim,
    I get what your saying but I find it kind of depressing.

    You know we have just moved and as we visit churches we are greatly surprised and disappointed that we visit small -mid sized reformed churches and stand around after the service without one single person welcoming us or talking to us. It really is disappointing. I find myself thinking so the teaching is good and so is the theology, communion check, liturgy check, but seriously reformed people can really be clique-ish and unavailable as we are finding.

    I know you are talking about social causes, but certainly the don’t ask don’t get involved mentality can permeate into other spheres of life and come off as unfriendly.

    Signed,
    seasoned anti-war demonstrator w/ kids in tow whether in utero or four, radio caller, internet activist/ facebook, white house comment line on speed dial, etc. w/ family in Gaza

    *** makes you nauseated, i know ***

    i even did this in 2006 with the war in Lebanon, where i do not have family.

    and yes my kids get a little neglected, but playing outdoors in the mud is good for them, dinner isn’t on the table but in n out is close by 🙂

    my friends who are coming out of fundie churches thank me for posting my thoughts on facebook and tell me it has changed the way they view what is going on.

    in my case the war literally has hit close to home, in fact missiles have hit my cousin’s home in Gaza.

  4. mutajadideen says:

    oops realized the post has another screen name, not to worry, mutajadideen is the Arabic word for Reformed Christian. which i find amusing since it sounds/ looks so much like something else.

  5. Zrim says:

    Hi R’na,

    Very cool handle.

    1. You know I hear you when it comes to being the odd-man-odd-out in these Dutch Reformed enclaves.

    2. But what I am suggesting really doesn’t translate into pedestrian civility. I mean, our church is brutally friendly and warm. But there is just something obnoxious about letting discipline go by the boards with one hand and passing out petitions against the local strips joints with the other. I so disdain transformationalism.

    3. My doctrine of liberty is liberal enough to afford you your conscience and practice. I am just not convinced of its wisdom is all. But if it helps, maybe I can view my choice to public school my kids as a way to protest the educational legalism of Reformed circles? That still doesn’t feel right—I’m a horrible activist. But, you’re right, kids need some neglect and mud at times.

    4. It is 17 degrees and will be 9 on Friday, with snow and wind. I have no idea how a middle-easterner like you made it here as long as you did. Kudos and props.

  6. mutajadideen says:

    i hear ya, i am not convinced of its wisdom either.

    we pray for God to resolve these issues, at the same time the dispensationalists false theology really feeds this stuff, and i am convinced we cannot let that continue. the local Christian radio program was interviewing an Israeli Army General and Chuck Smith Sr. Chuck, the pope of Calvary Chapel, was saying he would be tougher on Gaza than Israel is that he would strike back 10 times more. “blessed are the peacemakers”?

    I am afraid that followers of Chuck and Hagee want a bloodbath in Israel/ Palestine alongside of the extremist Jews and Muslims. at this point we just want to get our family out of Gaza to safety. their needs to be a voice of reason, i hope i can be that. the journalists interviewing me tell me i am.

    re: cold weather in MI, it does snow in Jerusalem, Lebanon, Syria, Iran so snow is not that foreign to the Middle East. but personally? i prefer a place like California where i can go outside and hold my kabob in one hand and my “Humanitarian Crisis in Gaza” sign in another hand.

    p.s. stop giving away who i am, just call me me muta 🙂

  7. Zrim says:

    Muta,

    !

    How about we move to southern Cali: my wife prepares your kabob and I’ll bring you a beer so you can hold two signs? That way, I make two women happy and I don’t have to “get involved.” Win, win, win…it’s in Michael Scott’s employee handbook.

    Seriously though, I can endure more with your cause than others. I think my disgust is with American superiority than with those who actually have a vested personal interest in what’s going on. So much of American activism is characterized by a certain amount of removal and casting of aspersion against things one really has little knowledge about or experience with. So…you go, girl.

  8. mutajadideen says:

    just make sure the beer is Taybeh, which is a brewery/ beer from the last/ only surviving Christian village in Palestine. the beer is great! Taybeh means good.

Leave a comment